Celebrating the future of journalism

The Illinois Journalism Education Association honors All-State Journalism Team, Administrator of the Year during its annual luncheon.


The Illinois Journalism Education Association named its 2019 All-State Journalism Team during the organization's annual meeting June 1 at the Illinois Press Association/Foundation office in Springfield. Meet (front, from left) Samuel Weinheimer, Elese Smith, Emma Brown and Sydney Moore; and (back, from left) Trenton Butler, Isaac Goffin, Riley Murphy and Emma Trone. Also named to the team but not present were Will Foster (Walter Payton College Prep High School), Jack Gulley (Harrisburg High School), Derik "DJ" McInturff (Herrin High School), Eve Snoeyink (Normal Community High School), Johanna Stephens (St. Charles North High School) and Amanda Stickels (Prospect High School).


Dan Kerns (right) hugs Brett Elliott as Elliott is named Administrator of the Year by the IJEA. Elliott is the principal of Richwoods High School in Peoria. Kerns, who is the  IJEA vice president, is a teacher at Richwoods and is the student newspaper's adviser.


Brett Elliott, principal at Richwoods High School in Peoria, speaks during the luncheon. Elliott was named the 2019 IJEA Administrator of the Year in recognition of his unwavering support of scholastic journalism. Elliott has helped the Richwoods broadcast, newspaper and yearbook staffs thrive, and he has brought a renewed sense of professionalism to the student media program.


Outgoing IJEA Executive Director Sally Renaud, a journalism professor at Eastern Illinois University, speaks after receiving an award for her years of service to the organization.


Illinois Press Foundation Director Jeff Rogers holds up a shirt that was given to him as a gift for speaking at the luncheon.


Matthew Troher, editor-in-chief of The Omega at Downers Grove North High School, accepts his award for being named Illinois Journalist of the Year Runner Up by Brenda Field, a member of the Illinois Journalism Education Association Board of Directors and the JEA state director.


Emma Brown (left), managing editor of The Sentinel student newspaper at Marist High School, is recognized as a member of the 2019 All-State Journalism Team by John Gonczy, IJEA president. Gonczy also is a journalism teacher and student newspaper adviser at Marist.


Sydney Moore (center), editor-in-chief of the Meridian High School Moments Yearbook, poses for a photo with her mother, Sheila, and IJEA President John Gonczy after being named to the 2019 All-State Journalism Team. Sheila also is the yearbook adviser at the school.


Trenton Butler (left) is honored as a member of the 2019 All-State Journalism Team. Butler is the co-editor-in-chief of The Advocate student newspaper at Washington Community High School. He's pictured with his adviser, Jennifer Reiser.


Elese Smith is honored as a member of the 2019 All-State Journalism Team. Smith is the editor-in-chief of the Jersey Community High School yearbook. She's pictured with IJEA President John Gonczy.


Emma Trone receives her plaque for being named to the 2019 All-State Journalism Team. Trone is editor-in-chief of the U-High Midway at the University of Chicago Laboratory High School.


Isaac Goffin is congratulated for being named to the 2019 All-State Journalism Team. Goffin is sports editor for The Crier newspaper at Conant high School.


Riley Murphy (center) of Huntley High School  is named to the 2019 All-State Journalism Team, while her adviser, Dennis Brown, (right) is named the 2019 James A. Tidwell Award for Excellence in Scholastic Media Education winner. Murphy is a staff writer, photographer and the arts/entertainment editor of the Voice student newspaper.


Samuel Weinheimer (center) is joined by adviser Elizabeth Levin after being named to the 2019 All-State Journalism Team. Weinheimer is the features editor of The Omega at Downers Grove North High School. Also pictured is IJEA President John Gonczy.


  • 25 July 2019
  • Author: Will Norris
  • Number of views: 40
  • Comments: 0
Categories: IPA Stories
Rate this article:
No rating
Please login or register to post comments.

Theme picker

Terms Of UsePrivacy Statement Code of Ethics Copyright 2019 by DNN Corp
Back To Top