Illinois Press Association honors top newspapers

Illinois Press Association honors top newspapers

BLOOMINGTON-NORMAL – Illinois’ top newspapers were honored today at the Illinois Press Association’s annual convention in Bloomington-Normal. More than 100 daily and non-daily newspapers competed in 36 editorial categories.

The Missouri Press Association and Pennsylvania NewsMedia Association judged the more than 2,500 editorial entries.

The Journal Star in Peoria won the Stuart R. Paddock Memorial Sweepstakes Trophy for large dailies. Coverage of the Caterpillar headquarters leaving Peoria contributed to the newspaper’s victory.

The Sweepstakes Trophies are awarded to newspapers earning the most points in six different circulation divisions. Points are awarded for first place through honorable mention in most contest categories including general excellence, photography, newswriting, opinion writing, design, community service and editorial page.

Runner-up for the Paddock Trophy was the Chicago Sun-Times. In third place was the Daily Herald Group in Arlington Heights.

In the medium-sized daily newspaper category, The News-Gazette in Champaign took top honors. They were awarded the Mabel S. Shaw Memorial Sweepstakes Trophy. The Northwest Herald in Crystal Lake claimed second place, and the Quincy Herald-Whig won third.

In the small daily newspaper category, The Register-Mail in Galesburg claimed top honors. The newspaper was awarded the Patrick Coburn Award of Excellence. Coming in second for the Coburn Award was the Daily Chronicle in DeKalb, followed by the Pekin Daily Times.

In the large, non-daily newspaper category, the Kane County Chronicle in St. Charles claimed the Will Loomis Memorial Trophy. The Suburban Life Core Group in Downers Grove received second place. The Austin Weekly News in Chicago received third place.

The Harold and Eva White Memorial Trophy is awarded to a medium-sized non-daily newspaper. Winner this year was The Galena Gazette. Second place went to the Bureau County Republican in Princeton. And in third place was The Hinsdalean in Hinsdale.

The Ford County Record in Paxton claimed ownership of the David B. Kramer Memorial Trophy, which is awarded to the best small, non-daily newspaper in Illinois. The Mahomet Citizen received second place. And the third place award was won by the El Paso Journal.

The Illinois Press Association, located in Springfield, represents approximately 450 daily and weekly newspapers.


To view a PDF of the press release, click here. To view the awards presentation, click here. To view the sponsored awards presentation, click here. To download the editorial Best of Press, click here. To view convention photos, click here. Member newspapers have permission to print/post.

  • 8 June 2018
  • Author: Will Norris
  • Number of views: 25
  • Comments: 0
Categories: IPA Stories
Rate this article:
No rating
Please login or register to post comments.

Theme picker

Terms Of UsePrivacy Statement Code of Ethics Copyright 2019 by DNN Corp
Back To Top